Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HiBeen visiting here for a while and reading all the forum posts and trying out every potential solution without any success.Over the 5 years I have suffered with IBS-D I have had barium tests (at both ends), diet changes, exercise plans, mebeverine tablets, calcium supplements and every probiotic drink/supplement known to man.All a complete waste of time.Visits to the doctors appeared to be a waste of time. The response was 'ive told you before, you have IBS, learn to live with it'.This has restricted my life unbelievably. I work as an outbased salesman so spend all day on the road. This has led to starving myself all day then binge eating at night when I know Im in the safety of my own home.The agrophobia starts to set in. I watched a tv travel show and one of the trips included a hot air balloon ride. Everyone else watching would be thinking what a great experience and what beautiful views. Any IBS sufferer would be thinking the same as me, 'OMG 2 hours trapped in a balloon basket with no toilet! Worst nightmare'.Anyhow on to my discovery.I have been on blood pressure tablets for 7 years now. Propranalol and ramapryl at various times. Never even thought they could have any connection as I had been on them for 2 years before IBS started.2 months ago I forgot to take my BP tablets for 3 days. When I realised I was worried that I had forgotten them but I also realised that my stomach had been on its best behaviour for years. My 7 or 8 visits per day had cut down to 1 or 2. Read the side effects leaflet in my pills and sure enough D was a possible side effect. Went back to docs and under advise went 2 weeks with no pills and then started on new ones, Valsartan.What a result.Suffering slightly with excess wind but the D and the associated stomach cramps have stopped completely. Like I said before I had been on the pills for 2 years before