Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Maura and I'm a 21-year-old college student suffering from IBS-C. I have no idea what triggered my symptoms over a year ago... I literally woke up one morning after going regularly for my entire life and haven't had a normal BM since. I've gone through the whole rigamarole of tests: colonoscopy, CAT scan, Sitz marker study, numerous rounds of bloodwork, etc., all of which came back normal. I've tried MOM, Miralax, Zelnorm, enemas, fiber, drinking LOTS of water, exercising, diet changes, and stool softeners, but I've found that the only thing that works for me is to take 1 or more stimulant laxatives both in the morning and at night. Of course, these lead to cramps and diarrhea, but it's the only way I can go, and sometimes these don't even work. I know that it's not good to be taking these harsh chemicals so often, but I'm desperate! I hate feeling constantly bloated, crampy, and gassy, and as I'm sure you all can attest to, having this "disease" is a huge detriment to my social life. I plan my life around food (when and what I'm going to eat), I can't go out with friends whenever I'd like because either I can't eat at a restaurant or I need to be home when the laxatives start working, and it's definitely had an effect on my moods as well. I've lost about 30 lbs. because I can't eat normally and am dealing with the effects of being underweight as well (I'm 5'6" and 106 lbs.) I'm just frustrated and discouraged that my doctors don't have anything else to offer me, telling me that this is just something that I'm going to have to deal with for the rest of my life. I'm just looking for any suggestions that any of you may have on how to cope with IBS-C both physically and emotionally and if there are any other remedies that you could recommend. I'm open to anything - thank you so much!!

·
Registered
118 Posts