Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 19 year old male who lives in NY who has just been diagnosed with IBS about a week ago after having a lot of the symptoms for 3-4 years. The dominant symptom in my case is almost constant, and sometimes debilitating abdominal pain. I am a college student at SUNY New Paltz, or at least I was until I got notification of academic dismissal. This was my second semester there and the second time a poor academic performance there has forced me to leave. I had a poor first semester, and then I went to a local community college and did well enough that they would take me back. I was allowed back this past Fall 2000 semester, but I had to find a room off campus because I wasn�t guaranteed a dorm room and had no desire to wait until the last minute to find housing. I rented a room by myself and went on with my life as a college student without many problems at the beginning of the semester. My symptoms of IBS got worse (but I didn�t know I had it then) as the semester progressed, and I knew that I wouldn�t be able to conform to the academic standards, which had also been raised due to being a readmitted student. To make things worse, things weren�t going so well with the people I was living in the house with due to IBS (most of them were part of their own �gang� and a conflict with one meant a conflict with them all) and I would eventually be asked by the landlord to leave at the end of the semester. Being in a house full of people you don�t like and living alone with IBS didn�t exactly help out with my academic situation. From a social perspective I had less contact with the friends that I had on-campus as the weather became less favorable to traveling back and forth between my room and school. Walking in freezing weather with a brick in your stomach to class and back was becoming less feasible as the weather and my symptoms got worse. That�s basically th