Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted on the Meeting Place about an incident that happened yesterday involving a snake, my dog, and my husband. Long story made short, after the encounter, five minutes later I was doubled over in spasms after being spasm free for months after going on Effexor XR to control the pain of IBS. I didn't think I would make it home in time for the explosive D to hit. Once I emptied, I was better, but still jumpy from the ordeal. This proves to me better than anything that stress can bring out the worse for an IBS person.

·
Registered
766 Posts
I totally agree. My IBS is much worse when I am stressed. I had a terrible time last week with my knee , handing in my notice and that was all stress.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I totally agree with you that stress does not help. But what if that's just part of your job? I am a musician (most of that stuff is at night - I am a pianist and an orchestral conductor) and an elementary school music teacher. I am feeling so much stress from my teaching job. I haven't eaten breakfast in about two months because I am so afraid it is going to set off my stomach (even though eating or not doesn't seem to really effect me) when I have 20 third graders in my room. There are no other adults back near the music room and I am constantly worrying "what if I have to go to the bathroom?" I feel like I am wining here, and I appologize for that! Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to make my teaching situation better? Any coping strageties?Thank you SO much!Leah

·
Registered
96 Posts