Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,I'm a university student and sometimes I find it increasingly harder to sit next to people in class. I prefer to sit at the back in an isolated spot to ensure that no one hears my stomach/intestines. I've been told that intestinal noise is a good thing given that my intestines are actually working and it is just the sound of air passing through them. I do, however, find it annoying to have to sit alone in class now because I really do like to be with people. I sometimes even have to pass up the chance to chill with some girls given that I'm too self-conscious about my stomach making a noise out of cue. It's definitely not a turn on for a girl to hear my stomach gurgle randomly (or is it?) I think I should also mention that I don't know how to burp- if I did know how to do you think that I would not get the sound of air passing through my intestines? The doctor seems to think that I have IBS (although, no type has been prescribed yet). I'm not ready to dip into disparity at this time so I've come to you guys for help. Any suggestions on how to control these annoying gurgling sounds? They aren't that loud but they are definitely loud enough for the person next to me and myself to hear. Any comments on this matter are greatly appreciated.Just a little background: I've tried probiotics and fibre supplements, but they don't seem to curtail the symptom I've been describing. I seem to have a very contained (or underdeveloped) form of IBS and I hope to prevent it from getting any worse. Sometimes when I let my mind wander in class or play a game on my laptop the symptom of gurgling does not seem to be as apparent. However, I want to be able to focus on my work, not other things. Maybe a good form of relaxation prior to class will help my intestines? Thanks for your help guys! I know I'll be happy to receive any of your comments.Cheers