Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm a student just starting University who has had constipation problems my whole life. I have been able to get these under control through medication and diet. However, since coming to school, I have been constipated almost continually. I'll have 1-2 week periods when having a bowel movement is nearly impossible, followed by a period of 2-3 days of intense diarrhea. I think the primary problem I am dealing with is stress, until now, I had led a very stress-free life, and now I am actually having to deal with difficult work and a lot of responsibility. I've already looked at ways to reduce how stressed I feel, but I've only been able to get it down to what is typical and unavoidable for a student in my program, and I'm still having problems.What I think I need is something to break the cycle by having a significant bowel movement during the time when I'd usually be constipated. For that, I feel like I should try something more powerful than my usual regulating medicine (5 Milk of Magnesia tablets and 1 Metamucil tablet per night). I don't want something I'll become dependent on, though, and I'd rather have something that flushes the bowels instead of softens the stool. This wouldn't be a regular thing to take, but something to try before the constipation is so bad that I get uncontrollable diarrhea for so long. I have considered an enema but feel uncomfortable with the idea of administrating it myself.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi Steven ASorry to hear about your problems. If I haven't been for several days and am really struggling, I take Dulcolax. Usually 1 tablet at night flushes me out in the morning. I try not to rely on it and I do take a natural laxative on a daily basis, but sometimes I just need to clear myself out and start again.CJF

·
Registered
297 Posts