Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About 4 years ago I mysteriously gained about 30-40 lbs while dieting and exercising, i went from 115lbs to about 150 lbs. I was devastated and tried everything I could to lose the weight, nothing worked. I got every single blood test you can imagine, everything was normal. I started seeing a new doctor and she had the idea that maybe I didn't gain fat, maybe it was bloating. She suggested I take a stool test to see if I had any parasites or candida. It came back positive for both, I went on antibiotics, herbal treatment, and a very strict diet for a number of months. I took another stool test and everything came back normal. GREAT, I thought....but nothing changed. I have been doing a paleo diet for the past 2 years, and although I feel slightly better when I am not eating grains (ALL GLUTEN FREE, I HAVENT HAD GLUTEN IN 3 YEARS), it isn't enough, i still have massive bloating.

When I cut out gluten free grains I have some relief, but then I get constipated. When I eat gluten free grains, I get horrible pain, extreme bloating (10 lbs in a matter of hours), BUT i can go to the bathroom daily, and easily! This just doesn't make sense.

I feel like I cant lose a single ounce of weight, despite my best efforts because my body is constantly bloated! What can I do to help this?

I have only gotten relief from two different things:

1. SCD Intro diet (ONLY PLAIN MEAT)

2. vivonex shakes

Which are two completely different diets, one is all protein, no carbs, and the other is mainly carbs!

Also, one of the symptoms I have is after I eat grains or some carbs, my entire body feels bruised. Mostly my stomach, but even my arms and breasts will feel bruised as well.

What can I do to feel more normal? I just want to lose weight and not be in pain.

Thank you so much for reading this!