Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,I have a terribly embarassing question, one I've been wanting to ask for a long time, but was too embarrased to ask, I probably won't be able to show my face around here agian but here goes. As many of you know I have IBS-C and when I have a BM I KNOW that not all of it 'comes out' cause I can feel it in there. No amount of pushing, waiting, straining, grunting whatever will make this come out. It's right in the 'end' of my rectum,so I gently kind of pull it out with my finger. I KNOW this is sooo disgusting and something I could never admit to anyone, much less my doctor. My question is, am I going to hurt myself by doing this??? I have a lot of anxiety about this and feel like its dirty and gross, but I only feel better when I get it all "out." I'm really embarassed about this, and would really like anyone's thoughts if your not too grossed out to talk about it. I figure if I can ask anywhere, you guys would be the ones to ask.Thanks[This message has been edited by JillAnn (edited 02-04-99).]

G

·
Nothing can be too gross with this "disease" and we're all basically in the same boat, so don't feel embarrased.Anyway, when I have the big "c" with those little hard "rabbit pellets" I sometimes have to "maneuvre" some out from the outside, 'cause I can actually feel them sitting there. But, I think if you sanitize your hands before you do this, keep those nails short, and don't go in to far or to the point of pain, there is nothing wrong with it. If you're really worried, just ask your Dr. That's his/her job!![This message has been edited by mine (edited 02-04-99).]

G

·