Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Heather,I've been coping w/IBS (usually D) for about 15 yrs -- fairly mild in the last decade. Am now 14 wks pregnant and having chronic D (mild, thank goodness) for the last 3 weeks. In the past I could resolve a bout by eating rice for a few days, but I am concerned about forgoing the fetus-necessary nutrients (protein, vitamins, etc.) and so have been trying to do a modified rice diet. The D is better but not resolving. Your recommendations? I guess if absolutely necessary I could eat a pot of rice & a pound of white-meat chicken a day, but I'm concerned about the fetus not getting everything s/he needs....BTW, I am taking Precare prenatal vitamins (my dr. was hoping the calcium, which constipates patients, would fix my D but no such luck). Also, could the raging hormones be exacerbating the D? Thanks -- ...com is great, BTW!

·
Registered
295 Posts