Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My doctor prescribed me Elavil to see how it will work for my ibs-d along with my anxiety. He said it is an older medication but he has seen good results with it in other patients. I am taking the generic form and will probably start it tonight or tomorrow night to see how it affects me before I take it during the day if at all possible. I was just wanting to know of anyones experience with Elavil good or bad. I am hoping it will work on both issues for me.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
Generally you want to take it at bedtime rather than during the day. It tends to make people sleepy and usually at lower doses you take once a day so might as well take it when you want to be sleepy anyway.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Do any of these drugs make you dependent on them in the long term?I'm a 20 year old student whose IBS has made me so panicy, so anxious, that often I refuse to leave the house.I want to feel calm about venturing out but always think "what if I get sick on the bus/train/in the city"If the dr prescribes meds for the anxiety... I want to know whether I'll be addicted or dependent for the rest of life.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts