Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,I'm fairly new to dealing with this wonderful life of IBS ( to knowing my symptoms have a name, that I'm not alone, and that there are things I can try to do about it, anyway), and I have some q.'s: 1) are there any particular foods/ingredients ( besides the obvious gas producers like beans and brocoli) that y'all find make your symptoms of gas, bloating and cramps worse? I am CONSTANTLY bloated and have gas ( sooo embarrasing)whether or not I've managed to ahve a BM and I haven't been able to pinpoint any food in particular that I eat regularly that makes this worse ( I generally eat mainly cottage cheese, lettuce, chicken, tofu, plain yogurt, turkey, gum, almonds and cashews.. any possible culprits there?). I'm currently on a low carb diet trying to lose a little weight, but I already have to cut a lot of common carbs out of my diet anyway since I have Celiac Disease. I'm beginning to think that maybe i'm intolerent to something else I eat- would love to figure out what- if anything in particular- is making me constatly bloated and gassy.2) I read some of the other entries about y'all who use things like Aloe Vera stuff, Slippery Elm, Acidopholous, charcoal... does one need to use all those to have relief or is it just a matter of trying each and figuring out which works for you? Like I said before gas and bloating ( along with C.) is my main prob, and I take Gas-X religiously but it seems to do absolutly nothing, so i'm curious about trying somehing else- sounds like the charcoal works for a lot- I saw people with IBS-D say it helped, but what about IBS-C?Sorry for the novel, but I'm desperate for advice. It's like my stomach rules my life and whether or not I can go out with friends and just have fun/enjoy daily life in general all depeds on the mood my stomach/digestive system is in that particualr day..ahhhhh!! I'd really