Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a thought, instead of medicating to alleviate symptoms, why not attempt to prevent these symptoms?Before reading this, keep in mind I'm a High School student. Obviously, my knowledge about the body and its functions aren't may not be exactly perfect or even right.From what I understand, aside from IBS, many people develop panic disorders which trigger IBS-like symptoms. The body must be sending some sort of signal, whether it be a hormone or something, I don't really know. Why can't we stop that thought before it gets to the stomach?Through medication I have been able to get rid of most of IBS's drawbacks but I believe I've developed some sort of panic disorder because of it.

·
Registered
14,427 Posts
Cognitive Behavior Therapy has been known to be successful treating IBS symptoms and some anxiety issues in regards to IBS.Have you visited the CBT/Hypnotherapy forum here?Loads of info there for you.http://ibsgroup.org/groupee/forums/a/frm/f/72210261BQ

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.Rather than trying to alleviate symptoms, why not cure it?If someone can subconsciously make themself sick, surely there has to be some sort of problem -- possibly a chemical imbalance? I don't really know.The point is, I don't want to be on medication all my life. I don't feel like that's the right way to do this. If doctors can cure cancer, why can't they cure this? It seems a bit ridiculous to me.

·
Registered
584 Posts