Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,I'm pretty new to IBS-D and my dr. has me on a pretty stiff/boring diet, but with the multivitamin w/calcium & iron with breakfast, Caltrate Plus (thanks for info about that) with lunch and dinner and the Bentyl before each meal and bedtime, I seem to be doing pretty well.I've had a really good week - only one day with pain/D that only lasted an hour!!!Well, getting to my question: I'm looking for a green vegie to add to my diet this week and need some suggestions for a very safe one. Presently the only green vegetable I'm eating is canned green beans. I don't really like them so I need something to alternate with.I'm very happy I've found this site - thanks to everyone here.------------------Martha

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hey Martha, I dont know what u may like but I can eat collard greens,mustard greens, broccoli without any gassy problems only if they are not cooked with smoked pork for seasoning they arent as good but I dont get any problems this way. Now the broccoli is good steamed for an hour or so until tender and as long as i dont eat too much of the stalk. Hope this gives you some good ideas. Have a good weekend. ------------------Peter

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I eat broccoli often with no problems, but I read somewhere once that the longer you cook it, the gassier it makes you. I rinse fresh broccoli and steam it in a little salted water for just a couple minutes.Also, try frozen green beans instead of canned. I think they taste a lot better. My kids really like them with a little seasoned salt on them.As far as greens-don't you have to be a born and raised southern ******* to eat that stuff, Peter?