Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to this page but I have had IBS and bowel issues for literally my entire life. It has been the most annoying and scariest problem I have ever had.

Anyhow for the last couple month I haven't been able to get a handle on the constipation situation and had to use Dulcalax Suppositories a few times with relief by 1 or 2 BMs. I had been having some lower abdominal pain and pressure here and there for awhile but a couple days ago it intensified profoundly. I started feeling nauseous and very bloated, not to mention extremely uncomfortable and in pain. I hadn't slept in 2 days from how sick it made me so today I went to the hospital ER for it, scared that I had fecal impaction. The Dr talked to me and then just had an X-ray done to see if I was umpacted. It showed that I was just extremely backed up but no impaction. He had me drink an entire bottle of magnesium citrate before leaving ER and wrote me a script for colace and miralax and told me to drink some prune juice. The mag citrate made me very nauseous and I only have had one BM on it so far. Anyway I'm wondering what to do next. Do I take the colace everyday and Is it safe to take with miralax? I already take miralax but have no experience with the colace. How much prune juice is good to drink? So far just 1 half diarreah half hard stool BM and I'm worried I won't get it all out and I want to prevent stuff like this from happening again. Unfortunately this wasn't my first ER trip for extreme constipation but I hope to at least no have to go back. Any advice is appreciated so much.