Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi all,Newbie here, need to let off steam, feeling so down, sorry.I'm so glad to have found this site, a comfort to know I am not the only one with violent stomach cramps, painful trapped wind, rushing to the bathroom what seems like a hundred times day and popping Imodium like they are sweets.Feeling really miserable today, been feeling (predictably?) extra-rough since Xmas, also got quite bad nausea this time too, been taking anti-spasmodics and loads of Imodium, but it's not doing a thing.I'm sick of feeling sick.. I don't know what my triggers are.. Not even sure if I have any.The IBS has been a lot, lot worse since I picked up a sickness / tummy bug on holiday in September.. That's when the nausea started to kick in.I hate taking pils all the time, do peppermint capsules, ginger, aloe vera etc.. actually work? I have tried charcoal tablets, they didn't work, I also have Actimel now and again but at the moment feel too sick to face it, likewise the Fybogel seemed to work a bit, but the husks get caught in my throat and make me retch, I can gag / throw up so easily nowadays that I sometimes don't even enjoy my food.
Sorry for the moan, just having a why me day today, I know I should get it in perspective, there's people with far worse diseases, but it's just getting me so down today. Sick of feeling ill.Any advice gratefully accepted. Thank you.Bradders. x

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
Some over the counter remedies do help some peopleIf they are not enough you may need to go to the doctor and try a prescription.Antispasmodics usually aren't used much for nausea, nor is Imodium. You might need something more specific to nausea. There are also things like Questran that might be better for the diarrhea.One thought is Remeron (an antidepressant) it is related chemically to anti-nausea drugs and Lotronex and sometimes helps with IBS a lot.

·
Registered