Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wow! I read Kamie's post about eliminating soy from her diet and was SHOCKED! Maybe soy is causing me problems!!!! I have been substituting boxed soy milk for cow's milk for a few years, as I love the taste of milk, love to have it alone or with cereal, etc., and found I just cannot digest cow's--gives me gas...but here is a revelation that MAYBE soy is an allegen to me as well! About 10 years ago, my nutritionist told me if I was going to have any protein powder drinks, to buy one WITHOUT SOY because to him, soy was a no-no, only a problem causer. Well, I had a hard enough time giving up dairy milk, so I was in no way going to listen to his advice when I decided to switch to soy milk for my cereal, etc. It's been a few years now, and I have been constipated all my life, with no real relief ....This morning I have had 2 bowls of cereal with soy milk on top, and now, what do i feel, but lightheaded and dizzy.....like I need to lie down and take a nap. Also kind of numb in my extremities. Is it just that I am home today and have I been having these symptoms all along, but ignoring them in my busy life? Anyone with info on a link where I can do more reading about soy and it's ill effects---please let me know, thanks!

·
Registered
927 Posts
Hi Cordelia,I didn't realize the many claimed dangers of soy, with the exception of what Kamie said about it being a Phytoestrogen(sp?). When I did a search on the dangers of soy, the article I am giving you a link to came up on many of the sites...I found it interesting, and a bit scary. I'm glad I can't tolerate soy now!
http://www.truthaboutsoy.com/cinderella.htm#panacea

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·