Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Hi there,I'm an almost 20-year-old college student from the US, and I'm going to be studying abroad in Europe for three months next year. The program is based in London, but I think I'll have time to travel to several other cities (I'm hoping Dublin and Paris) as well. Scary Thing #1: We're not living on a university campus, so we get a weekly stipend for food that we can either spend in restaurants or use to buy and prepare food for ourselves. We'll be staying in a residential-type hostel, though, so I'm pretty sure there won't be much room for food storage. It's going to be challenging enough with keep myself IBS symptom-free when I'm dealing with the stress/anxiety of being on my own so far from home, but I'll also have to put together meals that 1) won't make me sick and 2) keep me from losing weight. Beyond the typical batch of cookies or pot of noodles, I've never really cooked for myself before. Has anyone else ever been in a similar situation? Any advice for dealing with this? Will I be able to eat while I'm there? I'll feel much better if I go in with a plan.Scary Thing #2: I have never had alcohol before, aside from a sip of champagne at a wedding once. I know I'll be of legal drinking age in every place I visit, and I think I might like to try it while I'm in Europe. Are there any types of drinks that don't aggravate IBS? I'm not planning to go crazy here...as a 108-lb female, I think one drink with dinner will be plenty. I'm not great with sodas or super sugary drinks. I was thinking wine, maybe? Would it matter what kind of wine it was? I figured I would ask here because IBS will make my first drinking situation a lot different than it was for my friends.Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
4,034 Posts