Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time on this site. Sorry it's a stupid question, but I assume you mean that it comes out when you can't even tell you're doing it, ie. you can't even feel that anything's coming out, is that right? I have a very poor sense of smell so that half the time i don't even know i'm doing it, and can only work it out depending on the people around me and how vocal/ polite they are about it. i was at a party last night where someone kept walking past me making farting noises when i didn't even know i was doing it. Sometimes it seems like it is actually worse when it seems "leaky" than when I can feel an actual gas bubble coming out. Is that the same for anyone else? I find it so hard to tell, and so I can't tell whether it's best to try to prevent anything from seeping out or whether that makes it worse because I'm tensing up. Does anyone have any thoughts on that? I also know I probably shouldn't drink alcohol at all but sometimes it seems the only way to relax, although i wonder if that relaxes the muscles too much so i can't tell what's happening down there? I wish i could tell properly myself as instead i look around to see if anyone's having a bad reaction and that just makes it worse, i suppose. i start thinking every movement of a newspaper must be someone surreptitiously trying to fan the smell away. sometimes i just want to apologise in case i have made a bad smell but don't want to draw anyone's attention to it if they can't smell it, which i can't really. everyday this week on the tube I've had people coughing expressively, fanning their papers etc when i can't even tell it's happening. does anyone use those charcoal pants/ pant-liners? If so, does anyone think they work? I've used them for years now but am not convinced they really do anything. I think my gas smells chemically sometimes (more when it's leaky gas i th