Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone else sometimes wish you had cancer or something like that than IBS? I feel awful even thinking that but sometimes I am jealous of cancer patients since everyone understands cancer and there are tons of treatments out there. I want to be clear that I do NOT want cancer, I just wish that if I had to have health problems I wish they were health problems that people could understand and doctors could help with...

·
Registered
779 Posts
There are so many people that wish that all they had was IBS. It sounds cruel, but there are alot of people that have it so much worse than us. I am thankful that I am not confined to a wheelchair or have a terminal illness. I was a nurse and saw so much that was heartbreaking; people taking chemo and have no hair, but have hope that the chemo will help even when it won't; new quadraplegics who can't move a muscle and will have to have an attendent to do everything for them from then on. So with all the pain, D and C that I have gone through over the years, I am thankful that it isn't something worse.

·
Banned
202 Posts
I think that IBS is becoming more common. When I mention it, people say they have heard of it but are not familiar with symptoms.I guess when people learn more about it, we won't have to give (sometimes embarrasing)explanations all the time.I have gotten more help on this site than at the doctors' office.
IBS PIONEERS

·
Registered
126 Posts