Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm 24, and look successful on paper. I graduated from a good school and have been working good advertising/marketing jobs for about 2 years in San Francisco. I've had IBS-A for 6 years, and while the physical symptoms are bad, I'm finding the mental side of things to be even more debilitating.

At my best I am outgoing, sharp, clear and creative. But rarely am I at my best. Most days I struggle just to be 50%. I struggle with composure and confidence, and now more than anything, motivation. See the thing is, I know I can be successful. But after years of performing under my abilities and expectations, I feel very discouraged. To the point where I'm considering changing careers. It's no fun being in an environment that is a constant reminder that I'm underperforming.

My pedigree is great and I tend to do well in interviews so I don't have much problem getting good jobs, but struggle adapting socially and usually underperform so I hop from job to job. It's always the same.

I guess my perspective on life and work has changed living with a functional disease. I don't see a lot of meaning in advertising and social media marketing, and don't like the grind of being chained to a desk and computer the entire day. I am very movement-oriented person, even if I don't always have the typical energy I was born with.

I'm thinking about taking a year to teach english abroad, and then come back and get credentialed to become a PE teacher.

My dilemma is that I don't know if my IBS is prompting this need for change because I'm struggling or if it's bringing out what's been inside me all along. I feel very stuck, and kind of scared about what my career holds for me.

·
Registered
1,708 Posts