Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've just being diagnozed with a Urinary Tract Infection and have been put on Bactrim for ten days. I'm IBS, very, very constipated type and am finding this antibiotic is making things so much worse and even with laxatives I'm still extremely constipated. Is there anything I can do to counteract this effect? I have always found antibiotics constipating and that's how my IBS began.Not sure what to do. I really thought I couldnt get much more constipated until I started on Bactrim.
Anyone else been through the same issues with antibiotics?? I wish I would get some kind of diarrhea for once in my life.

·
Registered
8 Posts
If you feel that you can no longer tolerate the antibiotics, you might want to try an herb called Uva Ursi. I'm not a doctor but I have had severe UTIs (blood and puss in the urine) that seemed to come out of nowhere. I try to avoid antibiotics unless absolutely necessary and gave the herb a shot when I knew I was getting one. I was told not to drink cranberry juice while using Uva Ursi b/c they counteract each other. Drink lots of water to help flush your system but you probably already know that. I'm an IBS D so I tend to have the opposite effect with antibiotics. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
192 Posts
I feel for you. These infecions are painful
. I agree with the last post, as far as drinking a lot of water and cranberry juice. I know for me that it at least helped with the pain when I went to the bathroom. I took Bactrim a couple times for urinary tract infections, but found I was allergic to sulfa drugs
. I now take Cipro for that problem. One of the possible side effects is diarrhea. I don't know if switching to something like this would help your constipation, but maybe you could ask your doc. I usually tolerate this one pretty well, but sometime I do get a little diarrhea the first couple days.

·
Registered