Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi anyone out there had a virtual colonoscopy?What is it like and is it pain free? I believe they fill you full of CO2. Is this a simple proceedure?Thinking about going for one as my Dr doesn't wish to refer me for a regular one?ThanksDave

·
Registered
268 Posts
Dave,I've never had one, but I have heard that they're really a minor event compared to a regular one. I am not at all an expert, but the articles I've read about the virtual colonoscopy say that they're not nearly as accurate as a regular one. In fact, one article (I think it was in Men's Health magazine) says that the virtual kind is almost a waste of time and money because of it's inability to detect and produce the same results of a conventional colonoscopy. Again, I am NOT an expert. Maybe do a little research online and see what you can find out? Why won't your doctor refer you for a regular one? Good luck

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
I thought in the comparision trials people comfort-wise prefered the virtual colonscopy.It is less painful so they do not sedate you and getting filled up with air can be uncomfortable for some people.