Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the BB, though not to IBS. Here's my question. When I read about the symptoms of IBS versus other diagnoses, it always says IBS is not associated with weight loss. I've had IBS for about 10 years, and I can tell you, during my episodes, which may last a few months, I lose major weight (at least 8-10 pounds). Does this happen for other people? I do cut way back on what I eat, to avoid the "D". Should I just go ahead and eat more, and just use more Imodium, or do other people find they lose weight, too? I really need two sets of sizes of clothes.

·
Registered
661 Posts
Don't panic!! My first major episode of IBS I lost 40lbs in 5 weeks, they put me in the hospital, ran every test even to ct-scan, and found nothing but NERVES and IBS!!!! I loose weight when I'm having episodes all the time....

·
Registered
1,380 Posts
Same thing with me---lost 20lbs. in 4 days, another 20 lbs. the next month. Did all the tests, came back with IBS--my family thought I had cancer or something. My doc said it wasn't the IBS, it was that I refused to eat since everytime I did I had a D attack. I finally got back on an even keel and my weight has been pretty steady for the last year or two.

G

·
Yes, I lost weight too. I guess about 25 pounds in 3 months. The weight is not due to IBS but the anxiety, nerves, and drastic diet change that comes along with having IBS. I had blood tests, GI work, and nothing found. My weight has now been stable for the past 4 months. Wish I could soem back though.

·
Registered
728 Posts