Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that with any medical condition it is all very confusing trying to sort out different doctors, treatments, tests, medications, etc. We all make mistakes and later on wish we knew then what we know now.So what do you know now that would have been helpful to you when you first got sick?I am still pretty new to this myself and am eager for your responses. My own would be to get the best gastroenterologist you can. I like mine but she only sees patients on Mondays so I have to wait 2 months for an appointment with her. If I knew then what I know now I probably would have gone with another doctor. Now I don't want to mess anything up so I am a bit stuck.

·
Registered
779 Posts
When I first got IBS, there was nothing available to help. It wasn't even know as IBS, 40 years ago. It was considered to be an illness of the mind. Now, we are lucky. We have this board, a number of good books to help, and more understanding that IBS is a functional illness of the digestive system and not just an emotional illness.What I have learned from this board and some of the books I have read would have saved me years of feeling like I was an emotional cripple. For me, going to doctors just made me feel worse. I never have found the right doctor for me and I am not much interested in what many of them have to say. I just manage this on my own.I just wish I had known then what I know now.

·
Registered
17 Posts