Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been IBS-C for a few years but I have never experienced so many bathroom ''problems'' as I have in the past year or so. I get a lot of cramps, bloating, pain, urgency etc in the mornings and find it difficult to have a decent BM before leaving the house. What do you do to make it easier for yourself?I often find that I am not having a BM for one or two hours after getting up in the morning..and that's quite a problem.

·
Registered
2,243 Posts
I get up about 2 hours earlier when I have to do something in the morning. I usually put off making appts or doing anything until the afternoon if I can. Of course, I know this is not always possible if you have to work every morning. I felt like I was always suffering when I worked full time!

·
Community Manager
13,220 Posts
i'm ibs-c too and yes that's what i had to do when i was working--get up two to three hours before i had to leave for work. needed the extra time to go plus i am totally unable to go at all if i'm feeling rushed and stressed. and yes it's hard doing that---plus if you want to get a decent amount of sleep you have to go to bed earlier....i've always wished i was one of those lucky people who could just get up, eat breakfast, poop after a reasonable amount of time and go---or poop at work--never could do that either.

·
Registered
94 Posts
I've never been able to go in the mornings, so I don't bother trying unless I really feel the need. My doctor actually told me that it's a fallacy that human beings are 'meant' to go in the mornings and that most people actually go better after their evening meal.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·