Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.I have recently started a gentle yoga class for beginners and I wondering if anyone has found yoga to help their IBS symptoms. I have IBS-D and it is very stress induced. I am hoping that if I can relax when I feel an episode coming on I can stop the cycle.I did a search on this topic and I saw that jools asked the same question a few months ago but some time has passed and there wasn't much feedback on her initial post. Thanks.

G

·
I think Yoga is really cool. I just wish I had someone to do it with closeby and not have to go to a Yoga Studio. I especially like the relaxation poses and breathing exercises. I think the Proud Warrior pose is cool. What have you learned so far?

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I actually have only been to two classes and don't remember very many of the names of the positions. I am very new to this. I remember the tree pose, the lion, and I think once was called the stretching cat.I like the ones where I can really feel the stretch. Do you find that your IBS has gotten better since starting yoga?

·
Registered
33 Posts
I have taken gentle yoga and still do sometimes. I absolutley love it. Make sure you learn how to breath diaphrmatically and use it in your day to day life. Yoga can be an excellent tool to help with IBS. Stress is a trigger and yoga can help to lessen or eliminate that trigger. Also remember that yoga is not an exersize it is a lifestyle. Id you have the time for the class take it. I found that i can help my IBS with breathing techniques that i learned in yoga. If i utilize these techniques i help control how i react to my pain.ArizonaJnz - I am not sure if you actually live in AZ, i do, and i know that there are many universities and cummunity colleges that offer gentle yoga classes

G

·